Divine Women (Rowan Recommends)

I thought I’d kick off the review section with recommending a documentary series I’ve been watching on i-player, it’s ‘Divine Women’ on BBC 2.

I recommend this series to anyone interested in wicca, the role of females in religion and anyone interested in theology. I’ve found it very interesting. The first episode explored some of the changes in religion as society changed, with relation to the gender of Gods. The second was about priestesshood, which was really fascinating for me. I thought anyone considering being a high priestess or priestess of any coven should take a look at least, as it is interesting just how roles have changed for women.

It doesn’t seem that hard to follow and though most of it is about history the examples of early priestesshood are quite inspiring.

That is all I have to say, really. If it sounds interesting to you then search ‘Divine Women’ into i-player and it should be quite easy to find. 🙂

Rowan

x~x

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammiwitch
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 09:12:08

    Hi, I thought I would stop by and say that I am enjoying reading your posts. I really enjoyed the ‘Divine Women’ series, but haven’t quite got round to finish my review of it yet! I agree that the examples of the early priestesshood that were featured are inspiring and the series puts the role of religious women in its historical context. Great review! Brightest Blessings.

    Reply

    • paganpair
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 09:36:11

      Thank you. I didn’t know what to say about the series, mainly I just wanted to bring it to people’s attention because it’s really interesting. 😀
      Blessed Be
      Rowan
      x~x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

