Sacred Space

I was wondering through the interwebs today when I found this and I thought it was time I did a post on sacred space.

I might post some pictures soon of my sacred spaces, in a separate post because some of these places need explaining. 🙂

Sacred Space

It’s pretty much what it sais on the tin. Sacred Space is space given divine or higher energies or qualities with great significance to a path or practitioner. (divinity to me doesn’t have to have a conscious or sentient quality but I’m aware that most people connect ‘divine’ to the Gods but since I have mostly a nature centred faith I’d rather think of it as some kind of living energy and that’s why I added ‘higher’)

So if you read the article you’ll know it’s one from last year about a piece of sacred space that was pretty much destroyed and the speculation that it was religion based. Yup, this kind of persecution is still around today. That is the reason I was worried about Silversun’s brilliant idea (because it is a brilliant idea) of starting a group in college for pagans and wiccans. You see, last year many of the LGBT posters my sister put up disappeared… especially those near the bulletin board that was dedicated entirely to the Christian Union. :/ I’m ashamed to say conclusions weren’t very hard to come to. :/

Anyway, that’s not what this post is going to be about! Chin up, guys! Sacred space is always sacred and easy to find even if it is hard to deal with when it is lost. I remember when my brother first destroyed my herb garden (he’s very much against witchcraft and I seriously don’t know why, it’s not like I get in his way)… I still haven’t let go. Then there was that time he and mum chopped half the branches off my… well, technically not my… Ash tree, where I loved to sit and feel the wind rock the branches as if it could blow me right off this planet. When it’s lost it’s the feeling that something utterly irreplaceable is completely gone.

But, nuff of that!

Making Sacred Spaces

Sacred Space can be space that is consecrated. In Wicca you “tread the circle thrice about” and within that circle is temporary or permanent Sacred Space. In some traditions you have to cleanse and consecrate space before any ritual can take place there.

Silversun uses elemental magic quite strongly and it was with her that I consecrated some sacred space. This place was always intended to be for parties, feasts and celebrations anyway (all I did was expand the uses to rituals including a handfasting that I hope to have this or next summer). It was a Northfacing horseshoe of hedges and standing stones with a bonfire in the middle. In this consecration ritual we asked the elements in turn to use their powers to cleanse, bless and protect this place. (Here’s a video from a youtuber I subscribed to about her circle in her garden)

However, you do not need a million acres of land, a garden, a local park or even a window box (!) to make sacred space. You don’t even need to use the living room (I know some of you are in uni and things like that and in the uk our benefit system has changed so expect a lot more people in room shares rather than flats… grr… sorry to bring politics into this). Sacred space can be in your room as easily as it can be in a temple or out in the open. The kitchen witch can consecrate her kitchen and the hedgewitch her herb garden (before her brother drives a disco’ through it).

Some don’t believe you need to consecrate a place to make it sacred – it is your behaviour and your state of mind entering this place that makes it sacred. It is often recommended to treat the place as if and be in the mindset of inviting an extra special guest to the place (be it the elements, deities, nature spirits, general divine energy…). Sweep the area and sprinkle with specially consecrated water or circle with salt. Burn white sage incense or smudge sticks to cleanse the area.

Innately sacred Spaces

Sometimes you walk into a place and just know it’s special. Sometimes I call these faery-places, because in some of these places I feel a light heartedness and sometimes just a presence that requires great respect.

Lay lines are believed to be tracks of energy that interweave all over the world. Some believe that standing stones were sometimes put on these lay lines and sometimes roads were built to follow them. There is a standing stone arrangement that I’ve visited in Brittany that extends for miles. At intersections of these lay lines it is said there are great places to connect us to other worlds and greater powers. On these spots, people believe temples were often built and then later Churches. Although I actually sometimes have an irrational fear of entering churches, there are some that I feel I could easily treat as my own sacred spaces. For instance there’s a slightly famous church in Kernascleden that’s in the middle of a sort of roundabout (and it’s right next to the Bat museum so it’s an amazing place to go!).

Personally, I believe Sacred Space can be all sorts of places and when I post up about my sacred spaces you will see what I mean. ^.^ I also wanted to say, no matter what happens to the places you use as sacred space (if they are destroyed by … idiots …) you can practice your craft in places they can not touch. That doesn’t make it ok, though. This doesn’t make the public sacred places, like specially crafted stone circles and altars, any less important. Many of us practice in groups and many of our rituals are better with more people. The practitioner of every faith can practice it at home but we still have mosques, churches, chapels and temples for them. So, these special places that our covens use are still sacred and should still be respected no matter what (and faught for!).

I’d love to receive comments from you guys about sacred space, especially if you’ve got positive stories to tell to lighten the topic up. ^.^

BB

Rowan

x~x

Leave a Reply

